Films honoured

Filmmakers from Earl Marriott Secondary won the top prize at this year’s Surrey Film Festival which wound up Friday (June 24) at Surrey Arts Centre.

Washing Machine, created by Marriott students Blake Davey, Julia Thrift, Josh Glen, Ben Avery, Ben Button and Brayden Hall was named best of the festival, as well as best experimental film.

Another Marriott entry, Ken, created by Brett McCrady and Ben Avery, was judged best short film in the high school category.

Grand prize sponsor Robert Dominick, president of Lightyear Digital, presented the winning team with a trophy and $500 cash.

In other awards, the best short film in the post-secondary category was Mandriod by SFU student Dylan Innes.

Best public service announcement went to Enver Creek Secondary’s Keith Grant for A Choice; best music/sports video was awarded to Fleetwood Park Secondary’s Stuart Brookes for Lunch Time Loop.

Best animation was Odday by Yale Secondary’s Nikki Segovia; while best screenplay honours went to Dear Emma, by Fraser Heights’ Jane Wong, Daniel An and Victoria Stevens.

All festival films, as well as information on the Surrey International Film Festival, can be viewed at www.surreyfilmfest.ca

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Police seek Surrey taxi robbery suspect
Election 2014: South Surrey ‘family group’ targets pro-gay policy
Fog, navigation methods blamed for container ship grounding in Fraser River
Conservatives cagey about extending combat
Boxing bell joins Chuvalo in Hall of Fame
Avoid future chaos outside schools, council tells staff
UPDATE: Parliament Hill shootings too close to home for MPs, staff
LIVE STREAM: TEDx conference in Vancouver; Past highlights on Travel, Learning, and Gossip
Trustee candidates talk about education in Mission

Community Events, October 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Oct 23 edition online now. Browse the archives.