White Rock City Hall

White Rock City Hall

Committee appointments made

  • Jan. 18, 2011 6:00 a.m.

Enthusiastic volunteers are needed to provide insight and expertise on four City of White Rock committees.

Appointments to the transportation, youth, infrastructure and public art advisory committees will be for one year, ending Dec. 31, 2011.

The Transportation Committee is to advise council on public transit issues; the Youth Committee, on enhancing youth culture and opportunities; the Infrastructure Committee, on the city’s public infrastructure needs, and the Public Art Advisory Committee, on the implementation of public art policies in White Rock. Those interested are invited to submit a resumé to city clerk Tracey Arthur by 4:30 p.m. Feb. 4. Resumes may be dropped off at city hall, 15322 Buena Vista Ave., emailed (tarthur@city.whiterock.bc.ca) or faxed (604-541-9348).

Appointments to several 2011 committees were announced last month.


Intergovernmental Committee:

All members of council, with Mayor Catherine Ferguson as chair

Finance and Audit Committee:

All members of council, with Coun. Doug McLean as chair

Budget Reporting Sub-committee: Coun. Mary-Wade Anderson, Coun. Al Campbell, Coun. Lynne Sinclair

Governance and Legislation Committee:

All members of council, with Mayor Catherine Ferguson as chair

CAO Review Policy Sub-committee: Ferguson, Coun. Helen Fathers, Coun. Doug McLean

Strategic Communications Plan Review: Sub-committee: Ferguson, Coun. Grant Meyer, Coun. Lynne Sinclair

Land Use and Planning Committee:

All members of council, with deputy mayor as chair


Cultural Committee (one year):

Barbara Cooper (chair), Douglas Baker, Wendy Bollard, Geoff Giffin, Chris Harris, Steven Hughes, Doug Lachance, Coun. Helen Fathers (representative), Coun. Lynne Sinclair (alternate)

Non-voting liaison members: Semiahmoo Arts Council, White Rock Museum, South Surrey/White Rock Tourism, Semiahmoo First Nation, BIA

Environment Committee (one year):

Wilma Boyd (chair), Lisa Allen, Estelle Bogoch, Senga Fullam, David Riley, Andrew Schulz, (one position vacant), Coun. Helen Fathers (representative), Coun. Lynne Sinclair (alternative)

Health and Social Committee (one year):

David Young (chair), Moti Bali, Susan Brown, Denise Darrell, Judi Donald, Brad Forster, Luz Lopez-Dee, Coun. Lynne Sinclair (representative), Coun. Mary-Wade Anderson (alternate)

Liaison members: Alexandra Neighbourhood House

Economic, Investment and Revitalization Committee:

Mayor Catherine Ferguson, David Atkinson, Bob Bezubiak, Len Doray, Robert Genn, Alan Gray, Chris Harris, Gary Saunders, Nancy Shewfelt, Mike Sommer, Steve Tate, David Young, Coun. Lynne Sinclair (representative), Coun. Al Campbell (alternate)

Non-voting liaison members: Homebuilders Association (Peter Simpson), BIA (Ginny Harrison), Chamber of Commerce, Tourism White Rock (Betina Albornoz)


Advisory Design Panel:

Geoff Lloyd (chair), Mo Mohitpour (vice-chair), Estelle Bogoch, Robert Goldstein, Ken Jones, Anatoly Morgulis, David Tyrell. (Vacancy: physically challenged representative)

Advisory Design Panel:

Jean Kromm, Dale Mumford

Board of Variance (two-year appointments):

Gerry Parson, Margaret Woods, Gordon Hammond

Branding Task Force:

Chris Thornley (chair), Betina Albornoz, Ronald Elliott, Pamela Montgomery, Anita Wong; two positions vacant

Board of Variance:

Gordon Hammond, Gerry Parson, Margaret Woods

Parcel Tax Roll Review Panel:

Coun. Al Campbell (chair), Coun. Helen Fathers, Coun. Grant Meyer

Grants-in-Aid Subcommittee:

Coun. Mary-Wade Anderson (chair), Coun. Al Campbell, Coun. Helen Fathers

White Rock committee, liaison and government-organization appointments for 2011:

Metro Vancouver Board directors: Mayor Catherine Ferguson; Coun. Mary-Wade Anderson (alternate)

Labour Relations Bureau director: Coun. Lynne Sinclair; Coun. Helen Fathers (alternate)

Lower Mainland Treaty Advisory Committee: Anderson; Fathers (alternate)

Fraser Valley Regional Library: Fathers; Coun. Al Campbell (alternate)

TransLink Mayors’ Council: Ferguson; Coun. Grant Meyer (alternate)

South of the Fraser Community Rail Task Force: Meyer

Council liaisons to outside organizations:

BIA: Mayor Catherine Ferguson

Chamber of Commerce: Coun. Al Campbell

White Rock Museum: Coun. Lynne Sinclair

Semiahmoo First Nation: Coun. Mary-Wade Anderson

Fraser Health Authority: Ferguson

Surrey School District: Fathers

Lower Mainland Local Government Association: Anderson; Sinclair (alternate)

South Fraser Child and Youth Council: Coun. Doug McLean