White Rock council will have at least two new faces following the Nov. 15 election.

White Rock council will have at least two new faces following the Nov. 15 election.

Election 2014: Dozens nominated for White Rock/Surrey councils

Nominations for city council closed at 4 p.m. today; residents can vote for their leaders on Nov. 15.

The race to run for office in White Rock and Surrey has officially closed, and more than a dozen hopefuls have thrown their hats into each city’s political ring.

The only uncontested race is for White Rock’s seat on the Surrey school board. Longtime trustee Laurae McNally, the sole nominee, is to be acclaimed next Monday (Oct. 20).

While Surrey council and trustee nominees were still being tabulated at Peace Arch News’ early long-weekend deadline at 4 p.m. Friday – as nominations closed – White Rock’s candidates were set.

It’s a two-man run for White Rock’s mayor’s chair. Resident David Bradshaw submitted his nomination package on Thursday, in a quest to unseat incumbent Wayne Baldwin, who is wrapping up his first term in the chair.

On the councillor side, 17 hopefuls are vying for six seats: Cliff Annable, Al Campbell, David Chesney, Helen Fathers, Doug Hart, Ross Haugland, Mike Hornak, Sheila Hunter-Tubic, Megan Knight, Bill Lawrence, Dennis Lypka, Grant Meyer, Pattie Petrala, Darcy Sangster, Lynne Sinclair, Cary van Zanten and Margaret Woods.

Coun. Louise Hutchinson did not file papers by nomination deadline.

In Surrey, candidates who had filed nomination papers in Surrey before PAN press time included mayoral hopefuls Vikram Bajwa, John Edwards, Linda Hepner, Doug McCallum,  Barinder Rasode, Grant Rice and John Wolanski.

Running for the eight councillor seats are: Maz Artang, Saira Aujla, Merv Bayda, Tanvir Bhupal, Cliff Blair, Mike Bose, Darlene Bowyer, Obi Canuel, Narima Dela Cruz, Nav Dhanoya, Jas Dhillon, Fiona Dionne, Kal Dosanjh, Rita Elvins, Shawn Francis, Stephen Gammer, Touraj Ghanbar-zadeh, Rina Gill, Tom Gill, Laurie Guerra, Bruce Hayne, Gary Hoffman, Vera LeFranc, Brenda Locke, Mary Martin, Jim McMurtry, Martin Rooney, Rick Scorcese, Beau Simpson, Mike Starchuk, Barbara Steele, Justin Thind, Judy Villeneuve, Dave Woods and Brian Young.

Surrey School Board candidates for six trustee positions include: Terry Allen, Balraj Atwal, Rayman Bhuller, Charlene Dobie, Patricia Enair, Sikandar Hayat, Bob Holmes, Nicole Joliet, Laurie Larsen, Niovi Patskicakis, Kirsty Peterson, Bal Sabharwal, Sara Sharma, Jonathan Silveira, Julie Tapley, Garry Thind, Gary Tymoschuk and Shawn Wilson.

The election is to be held Saturday, Nov. 15.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Residents of 15156 Victoria Ave. say they’re at risk of losing their affordable housing, from left, Elizabeth Soper, Jack, Jane, Dan, Anthony. (Aaron Hinks photo)
White Rock tenants, landlord to go to RTB hearing over ‘renoviction’

Low-income tenants dispute claim they must relocate for work to be completed

A woman crosses 176th Street in Cloverdale April 12, 2021. 176th will not host Cloverdale Market Days this year as the popular street fest is just the latest casualty in the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. (Photo: Malin Jordan)
Cloverdale Market Days cancelled again

Organizer says popular street fest will return in 2022

Researchers say residents should leave sleeping bats alone while they exit hibernation. (Cathy Koot photo)
Spring ‘signal’ brings White Rock, Surrey bats out of hibernation

Community Bat Programs of BC says it’s best to leave sleeping bats alone

Marchers supporting Indian farmers rallied in Surrey last month, from Bear Creek Park to Holland Park along King George Boulevard. (File photo: Tom Zillich)
Surrey MP says mayor’s motion to support Indian farmers is his to make

“He has his own sovereignty, right,” Sukh Dhaliwal says

Crescent Beach Marina was ordered closed on April 12 due to COVID-19, according to Fraser Health. (Contributed photo)
Two South Surrey businesses among several shuttered for at least 10 days due to COVID-19

Fraser Health posting list of workplaces closed under new public health order

A woman wears a protective face covering to help prevent the spread of COVID-19 as she walks past the emergency entrance of Vancouver General Hospital in Vancouver, B.C., Friday, April 9, 2021. COVID-19 cases have been on a steady increase in the province of British Columbia over the past week. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Top doctor warns B.C.’s daily cases could reach 3,000 as COVID hospitalizations surge

There are more than 400 people in hospital, with 125 of them in ICU

The father of Aaliyah Rosa planted a tree and laid a plaque in her memory in 2018. (Langley Advance Times files)
Final witness will extend Langley child murder trial into May or June

Lengthy trial began last autumn with COVID and other factors forcing it to take longer than expected

The corner of 96th Avenue and Glover Road in Fort Langley now has traffic signals, and new “touchless” signal activation buttons. (Matthew Claxton/Langley Advance Times)
Busy Fort Langley intersection gets ‘touchless’ crosswalk signals

The new traffic light started operation in April

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

A crossing guard stops traffic as students wearing face masks to curb the spread of COVID-19 arrive at Ecole Woodward Hill Elementary School, in Surrey, B.C., on Tuesday, February 23, 2021. A number of schools in the Fraser Health region, including Woodward Hill, have reported cases of the B.1.7.7 COVID-19 variant first detected in the U.K. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
COVID-infected students in Lower Mainland schools transmitting to 1 to 2 others: data

Eight to 13 per cent of COVID cases among students in the Lower Mainland were acquired in schools, B.C. says

Dr. Bonnie Henry – in a B.C. health order that went into effect April 12 – granted WorkSafe inspectors the power to enforce workplace closures with COVID-19 spread. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
24 workplace closures being enforced in Fraser Health under new COVID-19 order

WorkSafe inspectors the power to enforce closures if COVID-19 has spread to 3 or more employees

Maple Ridge Fire and Rescue were conducting training operations at Gold Creek Falls when a firefighter broke their leg. (Eileen Robinson photo - Special to The News)
Firefighter suffers broken leg during swift water rescue practice in Golden Ears park

A training exercise at Maple Ridge waterfall on Wedesday results in mishap

Norm Scott, president of Royal Canadian Legion Branch # 91, is disappointed the Legion does not qualify for COVID financial assistance from the provincial government. (Black Press Media file photo)
B.C.’s pandemic aid package passing Legion branches by

Federal non-profit status stymies provincial assistance eligibility

Most Read