No hosts for White Rock byelection hopefuls

No hosts for White Rock byelection hopefuls

It’s looking like White Rock byelection candidates are on their own to get their platforms out to voters.

With 2½ weeks to go before White Rock’s byelection, it’s looking like candidates are on their own to get their platforms out to voters.

As of Monday, there were no all-candidates meetings scheduled prior to byelection day, Nov. 3 – and none in the works.

(Peace Arch News has posed a series of questions to candidates and will be running their responses in an upcoming edition.)

Officials with both the White Rock Business Improvement Association and the South Surrey White Rock Chamber of Commerce confirmed their respective organizations will not be hosting meetings.

“Traditionally, the BIA is a non-partisan organization, so we don’t get involved in politics,” executive director Sherri Wilson Morissette said Monday.

While the BIA did host an all-candidates meeting for the 2011 election, Wilson Morissette explained an exception was made last year after scheduled meetings by the chamber had been cancelled due to financial struggles.

It is unclear if finances played a role in this year’s decision. Chamber executive director Cliff Annable was not available to comment before Peace Arch News deadline Monday.

In the lead-up to the last byelection in 2009 – held to fill the seat left vacant following James Coleridge’s removal from office by the B.C. Supreme Court – at least two all-candidates meetings were held to help voters get to know more about who was on the ballot.

This time, nine candidates are in the running, vying for the council seat formerly held by longtime city councillor Mary-Wade Anderson, following her death June 26.

Advance voting is set for Oct. 24 and 30.

Council hopefuls are (in the order they will appear on the ballot): Pat Petrala, David Chesney, Bill Lawrence, Scott Kristjanson, Tom Willman, Grant Kane, Bruce McWilliam, Megan Knight and Graham Wood.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

One man is dead after a shooting in Fleetwood Sunday evening. (Shane MacKichan photos)
One dead after targeted shooting in Surrey

Incident took place near shopping complex at the corner of 152 Street and Fraser Highway

Items collected from last year’s Ocean Park Food Drive. (Contributed file photo)
Ocean Park Food Drive expands, open to residents south of 32 Avenue

Homeowners south of 32 Avenue and west of 160 Street encouraged to put donations on doorstep

(Black Press Media files)
‘Potentially damaging’ winds expected in Metro Vancouver

Wind is expected to pick up late Sunday night

Idyllic winter scenes are part of the atmosphere of the holiday season, and are depicted in many seasonal movies. How much do you know about holiday movies? Put your knowledge to the test. (
QUIZ: Test your knowledge of holiday movies and television specials

The festive season is a time for relaxing and enjoying some seasonal favourites

Black Press Media and BraveFace have come together to support children facing life-threatening conditions. Net proceeds from these washable, reusable, three-layer masks go to Make-A-Wish Foundation BC & Yukon.
Put on a BraveFace: Help make children’s wishes come true

Black Press Media, BraveFace host mask fundraiser for Make-A-Wish Foundation

A pedestrian makes their way through the snow in downtown Ottawa on Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Wild winter, drastic swings in store for Canada this year: Weather Network

In British Columbia and the Prairies, forecasters are calling for above-average snowfall levels

NDP Leader John Horgan, left, speaks as local candidate Ravi Kahlon listens during a campaign stop at Kahlon’s home in North Delta, B.C., on April 18, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

A B.C. Ambulance Service paramedic wearing a face mask to curb the spread of COVID-19 moves a stretcher outside an ambulance at Royal Columbia Hospital, in New Westminster, B.C., on Sunday, November 29, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
Top doctor urges Canadians to limit gatherings as ‘deeply concerning’ outbreaks continue

Canada’s active cases currently stand at 63,835, compared to 53,907 a week prior

A Canadian Pacific freight train travels around Morant’s Curve near Lake Louise, Alta., on Monday, Dec. 1, 2014. A study looking at 646 wildlife deaths along the railway tracks in Banff and Yoho national parks in Alberta and British Columbia has found that train speed is one of the biggest factors. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Frank Gunn
Study finds train speed a top factor in wildlife deaths in Banff, Yoho national parks

Research concludes effective mitigation could address train speed and ability of wildlife to see trains

A airport worker is pictured at Vancouver International Airport in Richmond, B.C. Wednesday, March 18, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Canada extends COVID restrictions for non-U.S. travellers until Jan. 21 amid second wave

This ban is separate from the one restricting non-essential U.S. travel

Langley RCMP issued a $2,300 fine to the Riverside Calvary church in Langley in the 9600 block of 201 Street for holding an in-person service on Sunday, Nov. 29, 2020, despite a provincial COVID-19 related ban (Dan Ferguson/Black Press Media)
Langley church fined for holding in-person Sunday service

Calvary church was fined $2,300 for defying provincial order

Most Read