Semiahmoo Rock see six selected in lacrosse draft

Tre Leclaire goes first overall to the Delta Islanders

Semiahmoo Rock’s Tre Leclaire was selected first overall by the Delta Islanders.

Semiahmoo Rock’s Tre Leclaire was selected first overall by the Delta Islanders.

Six players from the Semiahmoo Rock midget lacrosse team, including first overall selection Tre Leclaire, were among the 48 selected in last week’s British Columbia Junior A Lacrosse League Midget Draft.

Leclaire was claimed by the Delta Islanders, and will join a team which went 12-9 (won-lost) and placed fourth in the eight-team league.

Committed to join the Delaware Fightin’ Blue Hens field lacrosse team upon graduation, the Elgin Park Secondary student was a member of Team BC which won the 2014 box lacrosse national championship.

Leclaire was one of five Semiahmoo box lacrosse players drafted Sunday who also played with the Surrey Warriors field lacrosse team.

Three were drafted by the Burnaby Lakers. The Lakers claimed Patrick Shoemay third overall in the first round, then took Sean Dyck in the fourth round (27th overall). Two choices later, also in the fourth round, Burnaby drafted Reece Tomkow.

Jordan Dunbar went in the sixth round, 48th overall, to the Port Coquitlam Saints.

Hudson Sergeant, who played for Rock, was drafted in the fourth round, 26th overall, by the Langley Thunder.

Four members of the Surrey Rebels Midget A2 team heard their names called in the draft. Left-handed defender Nash Kinna went in the third round, 24th overall, to the New Westminster Salmonbellies, with Ben Davies claimed with the next selection, going in the fourth round (25th overall) to the Islanders.

Delta also claimed Derek Van Yperen of the Rebels with the 36th overall pick in the fifth round, one selection after the Lakers took Ben Carmichael.

It’s the second year in a row that six Semiahmoo Rock players have been selected in the draft.

Last year’s six-player crop – a record for the association – was led by Carter Dickson, who went third overall to New Westminster.