Registration is already open for July’s BC Superweek cycling series

Registration is already open for July’s BC Superweek cycling series

Tour de White Rock registration opens

Interest in BC Superweek cycling series has grown: race director

The Tour de White Rock cycling weekend may still be a few months away, but online registration for it and other events on the BC Superweek calendar is already accepted riders.

“With the growth of BC Superweek as one of North America’s most recognized professional road-race series, the interest from teams and riders to register as soon as possible has also grown,” said Superweek race director Mark Ernstring.

“As a result, we decided to open registration earlier this year than in the past.”

This year, the Tour de White Rock is set for the July 17-18, with the popular criterium set for uptown White Rock on the first day (Friday), while the longer road race will be the next morning, with the start/finish line on Marine Drive.

For the first time, this year’s event – normally a three-day affair – will not include the hill climb, which was axed from the schedule for 2015.

This year, BC Superweek features, in total, six criteriums and two road races. More than $70,000 in cash – plus thousands more in crowd primes – is on the line in the six criterium races.

In addition to the Tour de White Rock, other Superweek events include the Tour de Delta, UBC Grand Prix, Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix – which will likely be the busiest event of the bunch, with 20,000 fans expected – and the Giro di Burnaby.

The men’s races are open to pro 1/2 rider, while the women’s races are open to those in pro 1/2/3 categories.

“BC Superweek has always been one of my favourite events,” said veteran cyclist Anika Todd. “The racing is incredible. Challenging courses, top-notch competition and big crowds make (it) a really special experience.”’

Last year, the Tour de White Rock’s road race – which was held in scorching 30-degree heat – was won by Meghan Rathwell, on the 80-km women’s course, and Matteo Dal-Cin, who placed first in the 134-km men’s circuit.

Brandon Etzl was the men’s winner of the now-defunct hill climb, while Allison Jackson won both the women’s hill climb and criterium race. She was seventh in the road race, and captured the overall omnium title. Florenz Knauer was the men’s omnium winner.

For more information, or to register, visit